Conference on The Future of Jury Research

September 28 – 29, 2012

Research on juror and jury decision-making has proliferated over the past 45 years since the publication of the classic monograph, The American jury (Kalven & Zeisel, 1966). Although scholarship on juries is plentiful, some have expressed concerns over the variability of the quality of research generated in this area.  The conference brought together leading jury researchers for a conversation about the future of jury research. The discussion focused on the following topics.

The conference was livestreamed over the internet.  Click on the accompanying videos to watch the paper sessions.

Photos     Schedule    Presenters

Important Questions for Jury Researchers


Jennifer Hunt, Department of Psychology, Buffalo State College

Christina Studebaker, Barnes & Thornburg, LLP

Jay Koehler, College of Law, Northwestern University

Norbert Kerr, Department of Psychology, Michigan State University



Shari Seidman Diamond, College of Law, Northwestern University

Margaret Bull Kovera, Department of Psychology, John Jay College-CUNY


Methodological Issues in Jury Research


Brian Bornstein, Department of Psychology, University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Dan Krauss, Department of Psychology, Claremont McKenna College

Theodore Eisenberg, College of Law, Cornell University

Mary Rose, Department of Sociology, University of Texas at Austin



Brian Cutler, Department of Social Science & Humanities, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Edie Greene, Department of Psychology, University of Colorado-Colorado Springs


Integrating Group and Individual Models of Jury Decision Making


Dan Simon, College of Law, University of Southern California

Lora Levett, Department of Sociology and Criminology & Law, University of Florida

Dennis Devine, Department of Psychology, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis

William Hirst, Department of Psychology, The New School



Reid Hastie, College of Business, University of Chicago

Scott Tindale, Department of Psychology, Loyola University


Studying Lay Participation around the Globe


Hiroshi Fukurai, Department of Sociology & Legal Studies, UC-Santa Cruz

Jaihyun Park, Department of Psychology, Baruch College – CUNY

Sanja Kutnjak Ivkovich, School of Criminal Justice, Michigan State University

Valerie Hans, College of Law, Cornell University



Steven Penrod, Department of Psychology, John Jay College – CUNY

Neil Vidmar, College of Law, Duke University

The conference was funded by an award from the National Science Foundation to Dr. Margaret Bull Kovea
at John Jay College of Criminal Justice-CUNY.